Yanga Defeats Champion Azam In 2015 Community Shield Final

Dar es Salaam: Young Africans SC emerged as the league winner of 2015 Community Shield defeating Azam FC with 8-7 in a match held yesterday at the National Stadium in Dar es Salaam.

This is the second consecutive win for the Yanga against Azam, the champion of CECAFA Kagame Cup, with two spectacular penalty saves by goalkeeper Ally Mustafa.

Yanga was eliminated from the quarter final of CECAFA Kagame Cup, the final of which was recently played in Dar es Salaam.

Also the Mainland champions, Yanga struggled hard in the regular 90 minutes that resulted in a draw without any goal that lead to penalty shootouts though in 2014-15 season it recorded a 3-0 victory. Azam then was a league champion.

Heroes of the match are Mustafa and central defender Kelvin Yondani. The goalkeeper is credited with two superb saves where as the other player scored the last crucial penalty.

The other players who became the reason for cheer for Yanga who had taken penalties were Haruan Niyonzima, Deus Kaseke, Amis Tambwe, Andrey Coutinho, Geoffrey Mwaishuya, Thabani Kamusoko and Mbuyu Twite. Captain Nadir Haroub was unlucky to convert his shot into goal. It was saved by goalkeeper Aishi Manula.

At Azam’s side the successful penalities were shot by Kipre Tchetche, John Bocco, Himid Mao, Aggrey Morris, Jean Baptiste Mugiraneza, Erasto Nyoni and Shomari Kapombe. The unsuccessful were Pascal Wawa and Ame Ally.

Prior to the match, the Azam team had been undefeated for past thirteen competitive and friendly games. However, they became unlucky in maintaining the record in an important match that signals official opening of 2015/16 VPL season.

The team blame themselves as they were unable to score a single goal in the normal time and this had given the opponent to score chances.

The Vodacom Premier League 2015/16 season may commence on September 12. Sixteen teams will be displaying their talent on field to grab the league title.